aaru by david meredith
Books

Book review: Aaru by David Meredith

I'm on a few publishers' mailing lists for book reviews and every so often a synopsis drops in my mailbox which has me instantly intrigued. I had never heard of David Meredith before I received his email and, as it's an independent release, I hadn't heard of Aaru*, but the synopsis hooked me in straight… Continue reading Book review: Aaru by David Meredith

bookishly tea and book club review
Books, geekery, Lifestyle, stationery

Review: Bookishly Tea and Book Club

Bookishly is a bookworm's dream. Packed full of literary gifts and accessories, you can picked themed goodies for fans of Alice in Wonderland and Jane Austen, as well as crates featuring limited edition covers of classics. You can also book a blind date with a book! I especially love this print and journal. But that's… Continue reading Review: Bookishly Tea and Book Club

pep talk for writers by Grant Faulkner book review
blogging, Books

Pep Talks for Writers 

If you're looking for something to boost your writing mojo, grab a copy of Grant Faulkner's Pep Talks For Writers*. Faulkner is the Executive Director of National Novel Writing Month, so he knows his shit! More relevant to creative writers and, in particular, those embarking on November's #NaNoWriMo (write 50,000 words in 30 days), there's… Continue reading Pep Talks for Writers 

Jane Austen stationery from Abrams + Chronicle
Books, stationery

Jane Austen stationery from Abrams + Chronicle

If you liked yesterday's Jane Austen subscription box, you'll love today's stationery collection. Abrams + Chronicle have released a gorgeous range of stationery* for Jane Austen's 200th anniversary - they're almost too pretty to use! You might have spotted the notecards in my recent World Letter Writing Day post (they arrived just in time and… Continue reading Jane Austen stationery from Abrams + Chronicle

saturday share
blogging

Saturday Share #112

As always, I'm all about dem stationery and book recommendations and swooning over places I can't afford to visit. Here are the blog posts I've been loving this week. Emmie's blogger's guide to autumn had me nodding in agreement/approval. I love Emma's nursery decor for her upcoming arrival. Makes me feel bad that we've been… Continue reading Saturday Share #112

personalised my golden ticket book review
Books

Book review: Personalised My Golden Ticket from Wonderbly [+ giveaway]

When I saw on Twitter that Wonderbly had just released a new personalised book for fans of Roald Dahl I knew this was something I had to review. I had a personalised story book growing up and I jumped at the chance to order a copy of My Golden Ticket* for Jenson, especially one linked… Continue reading Book review: Personalised My Golden Ticket from Wonderbly [+ giveaway]

water in may by Ismee Amiel Williams
Books

Book review: Water in May by Ismee Amiel Williams

I think it's safe to say that I've not been this moved by a young adult book since The Fault in Our Stars. Ismee Amiel Williams's Water in May* certainly tugs at the heart strings but not in a gratuitous way. This is a book that will at the very least have you biting on… Continue reading Book review: Water in May by Ismee Amiel Williams

force of nature by jane harper
Books

Book review: Force of Nature by Jane Harper

It can be hard to live up to the success of a multi-award-winning debut novel but Jane Harper has certainly met, if not exceeded, expectations with Force of Nature. Fans of The Dry will be pleased to see the return of not only Harper but also Federal Agent Aaron Falk. Six months on from the… Continue reading Book review: Force of Nature by Jane Harper

coffee date with myself
Books, Mental Health

Self-Care Sunday #24

I've read a few blog posts and spotted a few pics on Instagram lately where people have taken themselves out for coffee dates and it seemed like such a good idea. When I was due to meet a friend for coffee the other day, rather than traipse around town when he said he was stuck… Continue reading Self-Care Sunday #24

saturday share
blogging

Saturday Share #106

I feel like every time I open Twitter theses days there seems to be more bad blood in the blogosphere, so this weekly update feels more necessary than ever. I love championing my favourite bloggers and sharing posts that have helped or inspired me. First off, 'scuse the little self-promo. I contributed to a fun… Continue reading Saturday Share #106