You Do You by Sarah Knight book review
Books

You Do You

'You do you' is an expression I've heard a lot lately, mainly from a sassy AF colleague, and I've longed to have that kind of attitude. Now, thanks to everyone's favourite potty-mouthed anti-guru, it's something I've started to adopt in my day-to-day life. Sarah Knight, author of The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a Fuck… Continue reading You Do You

The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a Fuck book review
Books, Lifestyle

My Fuck Budget

Apologies, if you've not read Sarah Knight's The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a Fuck, the title of this post might seem a bit odd. Let me explain. Following the success of Marie Kondo's The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, Sarah Knight wrote this book, subtitled 'How to stop spending time you don't have doing… Continue reading My Fuck Budget

little fires everywhere blog tour
Books

Blog tour: Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

It's not often that I'll read a book that I don't know much about. I'm usually hooked by an intriguing synopsis, have already read something by the author, I've fallen for a pretty cover or, if it's being reviewed everywhere, I want to know what everyone's talking about. It wasn't the case with Celeste Ng's… Continue reading Blog tour: Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

birthday christmas list 2017
Books, geekery, Lifestyle

My 2017 birthday/Christmas wish list

In case I've not mentioned it enough already, I turn 30 at the end of the month - eek! People have been warned against surprise parties, speeches, singing and any memorabilia with my age on but, ya know, presents are always gratefully received. I'm not a monster! Now that I'm old there's nothing I really… Continue reading My 2017 birthday/Christmas wish list

now playing film book review from abrams + chronicle
Books, Film, geekery

Unleashing my inner film geek

You might not know this but I used to be something of a film buff. Through my early teens I'd be at the cinema at least once a week catching up on new releases and, upon discovering Empire Magazine at the age of 15, I decided that I wanted to be a film critic. I'd… Continue reading Unleashing my inner film geek

a glorious freedom book review
Books

A Glorious Freedom

I can remember turning 25, admittedly a few years ago now, and being shocked to find that I was no longer classed as a young creative - that label is for the 18-24 bracket. But what if you're in your 30s, 40s or 50s and still haven't found your life's calling or true passion? What… Continue reading A Glorious Freedom

aaru by david meredith
Books

Book review: Aaru by David Meredith

I'm on a few publishers' mailing lists for book reviews and every so often a synopsis drops in my mailbox which has me instantly intrigued. I had never heard of David Meredith before I received his email and, as it's an independent release, I hadn't heard of Aaru*, but the synopsis hooked me in straight… Continue reading Book review: Aaru by David Meredith

bookishly tea and book club review
Books, geekery, Lifestyle, stationery

Review: Bookishly Tea and Book Club

Bookishly is a bookworm's dream. Packed full of literary gifts and accessories, you can picked themed goodies for fans of Alice in Wonderland and Jane Austen, as well as crates featuring limited edition covers of classics. You can also book a blind date with a book! I especially love this print and journal. But that's… Continue reading Review: Bookishly Tea and Book Club

pep talk for writers by Grant Faulkner book review
blogging, Books

Pep Talks for Writers 

If you're looking for something to boost your writing mojo, grab a copy of Grant Faulkner's Pep Talks For Writers*. Faulkner is the Executive Director of National Novel Writing Month, so he knows his shit! More relevant to creative writers and, in particular, those embarking on November's #NaNoWriMo (write 50,000 words in 30 days), there's… Continue reading Pep Talks for Writers 

Jane Austen stationery from Abrams + Chronicle
Books, stationery

Jane Austen stationery from Abrams + Chronicle

If you liked yesterday's Jane Austen subscription box, you'll love today's stationery collection. Abrams + Chronicle have released a gorgeous range of stationery* for Jane Austen's 200th anniversary - they're almost too pretty to use! You might have spotted the notecards in my recent World Letter Writing Day post (they arrived just in time and… Continue reading Jane Austen stationery from Abrams + Chronicle